top of page

The Frank Hegyi Award is Open for Submissions

The Ottawa Independent Writers (OIW) is launching the first Frank Hegyi Award for Emerging Authors. The award is named after long-time OIW member and former treasurer, Frank Hegyi, in recognition of his dedication and generosity toward the Ottawa Independent Writers.

The award was established to recognize the literary merit of emerging authors who are Canadian citizens or residents of Canada or whose submitted work was first published by a Canadian publisher. The award is open to all genres. The award will alternate between fiction and non-fiction, with 2017 being for fiction submissions. Books published in 2015 and 2016 are eligible for the 2017 award. Authors who have already won major national and provincial Canadian literary awards are not eligible (click here for the exclusion list of awards). The deadline for submission is January 15, 2017. For more on the Frank Hegyi Award, please visit the award page of the Ottawa Independent Writers at

Tag Cloud
bottom of page